Board of Trustees

The University of St. Francis Board of Trustees oversees and guides USF in fulfillment of its educational mission. For a roster of current trustees, click below.



Dr. Arvid C. Johnson

Dr. Arvid C. Johnson

Dr. Arvid C. Johnson was installed as the ninth president of the University of St. Francis in June 2013. In addition to a bachelor’s degree in physics (Lewis University, Romeoville, IL) and a master’s degree in electrical engineering (Northeastern University, Boston, MA), Arvid holds an MBA from the Kenan-Flagler Business School at the University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill, NC), and a PhD in management science from the Stuart School of Business at the Illinois Institute of Technology (Chicago, IL).

Prior to joining the University of St. Francis, Arvid served as the Dean of the Brennan School of Business at Dominican University since 2008 – and as a Professor of Management since 2001. He also serves on the Board of Trustees (including its Executive Committee) of the Illinois Council on Economic Education since 2008; as an elected member of the Lincoln-Way Community High School District Board of Education since 2009 and as President since 2011; and as an appointed member of the Village of Frankfort’s Financial Affairs Committee since 2010. Arvid served as the Midwest Decision Sciences Institute’s Vice President of Planning and Development from 2007-09, President-elect in 2009-10, President in 2010-11, and Immediate Past President in 2011-12.

Prior to entering academia on a full-time basis in 2001, Arvid was a principal in a management consulting firm and worked with companies ranging in size from startups to multi-million-dollar business units of Fortune 500 companies to describe, account for, explain, and exploit the variability present in their manufacturing and service processes. Arvid also has over 15 years of engineering, manufacturing, and senior management experience in a variety of business environments – including Northrop Grumman Corporation, Microwave Laboratories, and Varian Associates. He founded and served as the chair of Information Resources, Inc.’s Analytics Advisory Board from 2003-2008 – and led that company’s efforts to establish a global Research & Development function that included over 120 personnel in 9 countries.

Arvid has published and presented extensively in the areas of quantitative analysis, microwave materials processing, advanced manufacturing practices, and strategic management – and holds 8 US (and dozens of foreign) patents. His extensive list of publications includes >15 peer-reviewed journal articles, >15 book chapters and custom textbooks, and >35 peer-reviewed conference proceedings. He is the recipient of numerous honors, grants and awards including the International Academy of Business and Public Administration Disciplines’ Research Award (2011, 2012), the Business Ledger’s Entrepreneurial Excellence Award for Service to Entrepreneurs (2010), the United States Association of Small Business and Entrepreneurship/Small Business Institute Teaching Case Award of Excellence (2007), the Midwest Decision Sciences Institute Instructional Innovation Award (2006), the Coleman Foundation Elevator Grant for “Entrepreneurs’ Boot Camp” (2005), and the Charter One Excellence in Teaching Award (2003).

Arvid, his wife, three sons, and two dogs live in Frankfort, Illinois.


Officers of Administration


Frank H. Pascoe, D.A.
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs



Charles M. Beutel
Vice President for Admissions and Enrollment Services



Sr. Mary Elizabeth Imler, O.S.F.
Vice President for Mission Integration and University Ministry



Damon M. Sloan
Vice President for Student and Alumni Affairs



Terrance L. Cottrell
Vice President for Operations and Technology