The University of St. Francis College of Education gives two awards to outstanding educators:

Bishop Joseph L. Imesch Award for “Excellence in Teaching”
The University of St. Francis annually honors an outstanding Catholic school teacher with the Bishop Joseph L. Imesch Award for Excellence in Teaching.

The award is presented during the College of Education’s “Breakfast with the Bishop” during Catholic Schools Week.

This award was established on the occasion of Bishop Imesch’s celebration of 25 years of spiritual leadership as bishop of the Diocese of Joliet and in recognition of his commitment to Catholic Education.

The College of Education invites each school community to nominate a faculty member teaching in the Catholic schools of the Joliet Diocese.

The honoree posseses the spirit of leadership and commitment, which is the foundation of Catholic education, as well as demonstrates excellence in teaching; is a recognized Christian role model; and serves the educational community by sharing personal talents and time for the greater good of the community.


2012 Mary McGlone, St. Joseph School, Downers Grove
2011 Jill Placey, Christ The King Learning Academy, Lombard
2010 Charlene Paprockas, St. Raphael Catholic School, Naperville
2009 Sheila Jacklich, Benet Academy, Lisle
2008 Fr. Timothy Andres, St. Joseph School, Joliet
2007 Patricia Lee, St. Mary Catholic School, Plano
2006 Lydia Lyzinski
2005 Sharon Hostert, St. Paul the Apostle School, Joliet
2004 Virginia Baltz, Cathedral of St. Raymond School, Joliet
2003 Thomas White, Benet Academy, Lisle
2002 Rosemary Moran, St. Pius X Grade School, Lombard
2001 Sheila Fry, Joliet Catholic Academy, Joliet
2000 Jeanne Bell, St. Philip the Apostle School, Addison

The William “Buck” Orenic Outstanding Contribution Award
Is presented to a community member who has made outstanding contributions in support of the Conceptual Framework of the College of Education. The award Outstanding Contribution Award was named for Orenic in 2006.


2012 Kimberly Pfoutz
2011 Laura Pritz
2010 Linda Scott
2009 Sr. Rita Mandella
2008 Mary Ann Stubler
2007 Dr. William Bromer
2006 William Benoit
2005 William “Buck” Orenic
2004 Libby Lee
2003 Carol Sossong