Meet the Faculty

Faculty members in USF’s Department of Music and Performing Arts are talented teachers and outstanding performers; bringing their unique experiences to both the classroom and stage. Their contact information is listed below for your convenience. With further questions about the music program or the Music at Moser series, contact Michele O’Boyle at 815-740-3367.

Full-Time Faculty

Alexandra Dee, D.M.A.
Department Chair

Director of Orchestral Activities and Instructor of Music
Director of the Joliet Symphony Orchestra at USF
Phone: 815-740-3642
Email: adee@stfrancis.edu

Paul Laprade, M.A., M.Ed., M.M.
Director of Choral Activities and Assistant Professor of Music
Director of the Schola Cantorum, Concert Chorale, and Swingin’ Saints
Email: plaprade@stfrancis.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Mary Beth Diab, M.M.
Instructor of Music: Piano, Piano Pedagogy
Accompanist
mdiab@stfrancis.edu

Clarice Hearne, M.M.
Instructor of Music: Voice
chearne@stfrancis.edu

Cate Hummel, DMA
Instructor of Music: Flute
chummel@stfrancis.edu

Jeff Jaskowiak, MSMT
Instructor of Music: Guitar
Digital Audio Recording Arts (DARA)
jjaskowiak@stfrancis.edu

Bonnie Johansen-Werner, M.M.
Instructor of Music: Composition, Music Theory, Ear-Training & Sight-Singing
bjohansenwerner@stfrancis.edu

Linnea McCracken, B.A. Music
Digital Audio Recording Arts (DARA)
lmccracken@stfrancis.edu

Nick Michielsen, M.M.
Instructor of Music: Trumpet
nmichielsen@stfrancis.edu

Laura Neisler, M.M.
Instructor of Music: Oboe
lneisler@stfrancis.edu

Alby Odum, MSMT
Digital Audio Recording Arts (DARA)
aodum@stfrancis.edu

Ernest W. Ray, B.A. Theater
Theater Director
eray@stfrancis.edu

Jeffrey Ray, B.M.
Instructor of Music: Voice, Opera, Theater
jray@stfrancis.edu

Paul Scherer, M.S.
Instructor of Music: Jazz Piano
pscherer@stfrancis.edu

Willard Thomen, M.S.M.
Instructor of Music: Voice, Music Appreciation, Vocal Pedagogy, Diction
wthomen@stfrancis.edu

Melissa Schoonover, M.M.
Instructor of Music: Cello

Jiafeng Yan, M.M.
Instructor of Music: Piano
jyan@stfrancis.edu

Professor Emeritus

  • Patrick Brannon