Eight Students to benefit from alumni scholarships

Joliet, IL – Eight University of St. Francis students from across the greater Chicagoland area recently were named the winners of the university’s Alumni Association scholarships.

Mark Ahern, of Homewood, is this semester’s recipient of the Innovative Scholarship. The purpose of the scholarship is to encourage innovation in expanding horizons beyond the on-campus university experience. Ahern was awarded the scholarship in order to cover a portion of his cost for an upcoming service learning trip to Costa Rica. Ahern is among a group of business students traveling to the country to experience international business practices.

Upon his return, Ahern will give a presentation to the Alumni Association Board. The board also determined the 2010 winners of the Jane Engleton Snyder ’35 Scholarship, which is open to juniors or seniors majoring in education, psychology, social work or recreation administration.

This year’s winners are Mallory Nemes, of Des Plaines; Kelsey Castanier, of Morris; Melody Stonegate, of Joliet; Kristy Legerski, of Crest Hill; Margaret Motto, of New Lenox; Josh Barry, of Tinley Park; and Allison Henning, of Rockford.

The amount awarded depends on academic excellence, need and a personal interview. The Alumni Association considered an unprecedented number of applicants for this year’s awards.