Schools of Character Program

The University of St. Francis and the Will County Character Coalition are pleased to partner with to offer the Illinois State Schools of Character Recognition Program. The purpose of State and National Schools of Character is to identify and honor schools and districts that can serve as models of comprehensive, transformative character education.

The Illinois State Schools of Character program is endorsed by the Illinois State Board of Education.

To learn more about this opportunity or to apply online visit Schools of Character Program 

Applications are submitted through Get Started

The University of St. Francis and the Will County Character Education Coalition  review and score all applications received for Illinois. Those identified as having met a standard of excellence will be named State Schools of Character (SSOC) for a period of five (5) years.

Once a school receives the SSOC classification, conducts a review for further consideration as a National School of Character (NSOC).

Each year, recognizes schools who have successful implementation of one or more of The 11 Principles of Character in a unique and replicable way through the Promising Practices designation. Many schools first apply for Promising Practice as an initial step toward Schools of Character recognition.

The application for Promising Practices does not require a description of a school’s entire character education program, but rather of a specific practice or aspect of the program that other schools may learn from and replicate. 

Applications are submitted through Promising Practices

Harmony Emge School District 175 | Belleville

Belleville Public Schools District #118 | Belleville

– Emge Junior High School | Belleville
– Harmony Intermediate Center | Belleville

– Ellis Elementary School | Belleville
– Forest Park Individual Education School | Joliet
National School of Character Awarded 2020!

– Freeburg Primary Center | Freeburg
– St. Mary of the Angels School | Chicago

– Abraham Lincoln Elementary School | Belleville
– Embers Elementary School | Niles

– Union Elementary School | Belleville
– Westhaven Elementary School | Belleville

Past Recipients
– Alton Middle School | Alton
– Central Junior High School | Belleville
– Henry Raab Elementary School | Belleville
– Namaste Charter School | Chicago
– Fox River Country Day School | Elgin
– Renfro Elementary School | Collinsville

Past Promising Practice Designations
– Belleville East High School | Belleville
– Freeburg Community Consolidated Schools | Freeburg
– Kingswood Academy | Darien

Character Education at USF

Character Education Program Guidance
Dr. Madonna Murphy
815-740-3212 or
Character Education flyer (download/print)