Meet the Faculty

USF faculty members bring students on board as they conduct research projects. And, they encourage students to undertake their own research projects. Our faculty believe in learning by doing, getting that first-person experience that brings the learning experience to a whole new level. This mode of learning is central to the university’s philosophy of science education.

Faculty further engage students to work for the Natural Science Department as tutors, lab assistants and research assistants.

Top science students may be awarded Science Fellows scholarships. The Science Fellows program also offers students a unique opportunity to be involved with the Natural Science Department and with professional scientists.

picture of Dr. Jackie Wittke-Thompson Dr. Jackie Wittke-Thompson
Department Chair
Associate Professor
Phone: 815-768-8350
Email: jwittkethompson@stfrancis.edu
picture of Ms. Patricia Pascoe Ms. Patricia Pascoe
Assistant Professor
Phone: 815-740-3856
Email: ppascoe@stfrancis.edu
picture of Dr. William Bromer Dr. William Bromer
Professor
Phone: 815-740-3467
Email: wbromer@stfrancis.edu
Meet Dr. Bromer
picture of Dr. Erick Essick Dr. Erick Essick
Assistant Professor
Phone: 815-740-5046
Email: eessick@stfrancis.edu
Dr. Scott Gruenbaum
Instructor
Phone: 815-740-3870
Email: sgruenbaum@stfrancis.edu
picture of Dr. Lisa Hedrick Dr. Lisa Hedrick
Associate Professor
Phone: 815-740-3471
Email: lhedrick@stfrancis.edu
picture of Dr. Brian Moskalik Dr. Brian Moskalik
Assistant Professor
Phone: 815-768-8385
Email: bmoskalik@stfrancis.edu
picture of Dr. Susan Renner Dr. Susan Renner
Assistant Professor
Phone: 815-740-3481
Email: srenner@stfrancis.edu
picture of Dr. Daniel Schwert Dr. Daniel Schwert
Assistant Professor
Telephone: 815-740-3855
Email: dschwert@stfrancis.edu
Dr. Ben Whitlock
Associate Professor
Phone: 815-740-3586
Email: bwhitlock@stfrancis.edu