Presidential Search

Presidential Search Update

February 25, 2013

On behalf of the Board of Trustees, it is with great pleasure that I announce the impending appointment of Arvid C. Johnson, Ph.D. as the ninth president of the University of St. Francis.

As you know, Dr. Johnson is presently Dean of the Brennan School of Business at Dominican University, where he has many achievements. He will bring great energy to USF as we all work together to build on the great strengths that our university already possesses. His tenure will begin June 1.

The Board of Trustees will meet Thursday, Feb. 28 to confirm his appointment. We invite the entire university community to join a reception to welcome Dr. Johnson at 3:30 p.m. in the Pat Sullivan Recreation Center.

Please mark your calendars and join in this momentous occasion for the University of St.Francis.

J.D. Ross
Chairperson, Board of Trustees

  • The Position Specific Profile

  • Search Committee Members

    University of St. Francis – Presidential Search Committee

    Chair, Ms. Kathleen McGowan
    Executive Director (retired), Catholic Charities, Diocese of Joliet
    Consultant to Non-profits

    Mr. Terrance Cottrell ’99, ’03
    Director, Library Services

    Mr. Joseph Ferrallo ’85, ’06, ‘07
    CEO, Client Contact Center Solutions

    Mr. Robert Filotto
    President, Filotto Professional Services

    Dr. June Grivetti
    Associate Professor of Education
    College of Education

    Ms. Diane Habiger ‘76
    Property Manager, Lincolnshire Properties

    Sr. Mary Elizabeth Imler
    Vice President, Mission Integration

    Ms. Ashleigh Offerman ‘13
    SGA President
    Management Major

    Dr. Debra Peterson
    Associate Professor of Nursing
    College of Nursing

    Mr. J. D. Ross
    President (Retired), Joliet Junior College
    Executive Director, Will-Grundy Medical Clinic

    Sr. Faith Szambelanczyk, OSF ‘57
    President/CEO (Retired), Joliet Catholic Academy

    Dr. Billie Terrell
    Professor of Social Work
    College of Arts & Sciences

    Dr. Maribel Valle
    Assistant Professor of Healthcare Administration
    College of Business & Health Administration

    Dr. Richard Vaughan
    Chair, Academic Assembly
    Associate Professor of Business Administration
    College of Business & Health Administration

    Dr. Lawrence Wyllie
    Superintendent, Lincoln-Way Community High School, District 210

    Sr. Dolores Zemont, OSF
    President, Congregation of the Sisters of St. Francis of Mary Immaculate

    Supporting the Presidential Search Committee

    Mr. Dennis Barden
    Senior Vice President, Witt/Kieffer

    Ms. Elizabeth Bohan
    Senior Associate, Witt/Keiffer

    Ms. Barbara Ingold ’96, ‘09
    Executive Assistant to the President
    Secretary to the Board of Trustees

  • Mission & History of the university

    USF Mission Statement

    As a Catholic university rooted in the liberal arts, we are a welcoming community of learners challenged by Franciscan values and char-ism, engaged in a continuous pursuit of knowledge, faith, wisdom, and justice, and ever mindful of a tradition that emphasizes reverence for creation, compassion and peacemaking. We strive for academic excellence in all programs, preparing women and men to contribute to the world through service and leadership.

    To learn more about the University of St. Francis, click the links below.

  • Past Presidential Search Updates

    Below are previous updates of the Presidential Search in order by date from newest to oldest. (all links below are Adobe PDF files)

    For a continous file of all correspondence, please click here

  • Contact Information of Search Consultants

    Witt/Kieffer is pleased to be supporting University of St. Francis in its search for a new President

    Suggestions of candidates, comments, and questions about this search may be directed to:

    Dennis M. Barden
    (630) 575-6167

    Elizabeth Bohan
    (630) 575-6161

    The administrative assistant for this search is:

    Ronda Chianelli
    (630) 575-6152

    When writing or forwarding information about this search, please send via email to:

    Materials that cannot be sent electronically may be mailed to:

    University of St. Francis
    Attention: Dennis M. Barden/Elizabeth Bohan
    2015 Spring Road, Suite 510
    Oak Brook, Illinois 60523