Campus Address: 500 Wilcox St., Joliet, IL 60435
The Main Campus of the University of St. Francis is in the Cathedral Areas Preservation District, amidst some of the city’s most elegant and historic homes, and within easy walking distance of the Cathedral of St. Raymond. The campus is 35 miles southwest from Chicago. Downtown Joliet and its Metra station are just minutes away, along with the university’s downtown campus.
Tower Hall, the main academic building on Main Campus, built in 1922, is the iconic image of the university. In the Wilcox/Taylor Street roundabout in front of Tower Hall is a statue of Mother Alfred Moes, founder of the Sisters of St. Francis. The statue welcomes guests to campus and reminds all of the sisters’ many contributions to the Joliet community. Tower Hall’s main entrance at Circle Drive is marked by a statue of St. Francis, the institution’s patron saint. Just inside the Circle Drive entrance is the Welcome Center.
Tower Hall houses multimedia classrooms, labs and administrative offices, along with WCSF Radio, the campus television station and Terrace Cafe. The College of Arts and Sciences and the College of Business and Health Administration are based in Tower Hall. You can also find Safety and Security, Graduate & Adult Undergraduate Admissions, and the Health & Wellness Office (school nurse) in this building. The south wing of Tower Hall contains residence rooms for 90 students. Music, theater, cultural and scholarly events are most often at home in the Harold and Margaret Moser Performing Arts Center, which includes an art gallery, the Sexton Auditorium, the Turk Studio Theater, a choral room and music practice rooms.
The LaVerne & Dorothy Brown Library has more than 110,000 volumes, special collections, current periodical subscriptions, computer research areas and group and individual study areas. The Academic Resource Center (ARC), the Center for Instructional Delivery and the university archives are within the library.
Marian Hall, a 250-bed student residence for freshman and sophomores. Each floor contains computer/study area and social lounges. A kitchen is also available to residents. A game room and the Abbey Lounge, where students can attend performances or watch television, are at the ground floor of Marian Hall.
The Pat Sullivan Recreation Center, heart of the Fighting Saints sports teams, has an intercollegiate basketball/volleyball arena, three racquetball courts, locker rooms, a state-of-the-art training room and center and Athletic Department offices. Learn more about athletics here.
Built in 1881, the expansive Motherhouse was originally home to the university’s founders, the Sisters of St. Francis of Mary Immaculate. It is now home to the President’s Office, the Institutional Avancement Office, Alumni & Family Relations, Undergraduate Admissions, the Welcome Center, International Programs, and College of Education classrooms and offices. Central to campus life is the St. Joseph Chapel, located on the third floor. University Ministry offices are also within the Motherhouse, as well as the Three Oaks Bistro, Bernie’s Pub, the Fireside Lounge, a game room and vending areas, along with unique residence rooms and suites for 40 students.
Students and the community enjoy the quadrangle green space that is centered by a fountain and brick pathway from Tower Hall to the Motherhouse. A “three oaks” tree, which was a traditional gathering place for the Sisters of St. Francis, is just among several species of trees found on campus, including Gingko, Bradford Pear, Honey Locust, Silver Maple, Sycamore and Sugar Maple.